The Scale

Our scale has been AWOL for awhile because the battery was dead. Yesterday I finally decided to buy a new battery and when I stopped on the scale the number was..a little (much?) higher than I was expecting. It wasn’t a shock though, I know my eating habits have changed here, how could they not? The food is so good. That being said I haven’t been feeling great about my eating habits/body for awhile but having been lacking the motivation to do much. Also seeing that number on the scale verified what I’ve been thinking myself, running isn’t doing much. I think I’m in a grey area of running that I’m running just enough to make myself starving all day long but I’m obviously taking in way more calories than I need.

So instead of feeling angry about my weight gain, I’m going to make it my motivation to get back to my normal weight. Also, I’m taking a running hiatus to see if it helps the hunger. I’m going to stick to walking, playing with the kids more and maybe feeling more awake with less coffee since I’ll get to sleep in an extra hour!

That being said I want to lose about 10 lbs to get back to my normal weight and I’m going to use Weight Watchers instead of trying to do it myself. Today starts day one!

Besides buying a new battery yesterday, we had such a nice day. We did nothing in particular. We had plans to go to the sea but Umberto had a bad headache and low fever so we stayed home. The kids were up around 8 with me, we ate breakfast, played, went into town to exchange a jacket I bought Felicity and then we came home for lunch. Raffi slept while Felicity had “quiet time” watching Frozen. Later, we made paintings, played outside on the terrace for a long time until the weather got too windy and cold. Felicity went to her grandparents around 5 for 2 hours so we had some good one-on-one time with just Raffi. When she got home, we quickly got the kids in pajamas and both were asleep by 7:45!! Umberto and I stayed up watching TV together which we haven’t done in who knows how long!

IMG_0861IMG_0871IMG_0869

 

Leave a comment